Four Major Food Groups

Four Major Food Groups

By | November 26, 2016

The number of food groups considered to be “great” or “basic” has varied throughout history to nutrition. In 1956 published the USDA on “Essentials of a good diet” guide, where “Basic Four” food groups were introduced: milk and milk products (two servings), meat, fish, poultry, eggs, dry beans and nuts (two servings), fruit and vegetables (four servings) and grain (four servings). The food pyramid, later defined by the USDA, is more tailored to the individual, but the same basic food groups still important.

In accordance with the Dietary Approaches to Stop Hypertension (DASH) eating plan, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) recommends drinking fat-free (skim) or low-fat (1 percent) milk or buttermilk, and eat cheese and yogurt is also low in fat.

The CDC has created a category of beef, poultry, pork, game meats, fish and shellfish, recommend that you choose only the leanest forms of these meats. Visible fat should trimmed away and the preferred method of cooking is broiling, roasting or poaching. The skin should be removed from poultry. An additional category of nuts, seeds and legumes have since been divided from the “meat” tab of the “Basic Four,” such as meat, these foods also provide protein

Bread and rolls, pasta ,. English muffins, pita bread, bagels, cereals, grits, oatmeal, rice, unsalted pretzels and popcorn falls into the “grain” category, based on the DASH eating plan. The CDC recommends eating whole grains versions of these foods only.

Fruits and vegetables
Fruits and vegetables now constitute two separate categories which once fell into a single category. This group includes all fruits from apples to mangoes, and includes 100 percent fruit juice. Vegetables, such as carrots and potatoes, fall into the “vegetable” category.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *